Apress Access

Lee de Forest

King of Radio, Television, and Film

By Mike Adams

  • eBook Price: $19.95
Buy eBook Buy Print Book

Lee de Forest Cover Image

This volume explores both the career of Lee de Forest and the early history of film making, exploring the work of de Forest as the scientist and producer, director, and writer of content who changed the history of film through the incorporation of sound.

Full Description

  • Add to Wishlist
  • ISBN13: 978-1-4614-0417-0
  • 568 Pages
  • Publication Date: October 17, 2011
  • Available eBook Formats: PDF
Full Description
The life-long inventor, Lee de Forest invented the three-element vacuum tube used between 1906 and 1916 as a detector, amplifier, and oscillator of radio waves. Beginning in 1918 he began to develop a light valve, a device for writing and reading sound using light patterns. While he received many patents for his process, he was initially ignored by the film industry. In order to promote and demonstrate his process he made several hundred sound short films, he rented space for their showing; he sold the tickets and did the publicity to gain audiences for his invention. Lee de Forest officially brought sound to film in 1919. Lee De Forest: King of Radio, Television, and Film is about both invention and early film making; de Forest as the scientist and producer, director, and writer of the content. This book tells the story of de Forest’s contribution in changing the history of film through the incorporation of sound. The text includes primary source historical material, U.S. patents and richly-illustrated photos of Lee de Forest’s experiments. Readers will greatly benefit from an understanding of the transition from silent to audio motion pictures, the impact this had on the scientific community and the popular culture, as well as the economics of the entertainment industry.
Table of Contents

Table of Contents

  1. Chapter 1 Born to Invent.
  2. Chapter 2 The Race for Wireless.
  3. Chapter 3 The Meaning of the Audion.
  4. Chapter 4 California Days.
  5. Chapter 5 Radio’s Arrival.
  6. Chapter 6 Phonofilm, the Promise.
  7. Chapter 7 Phonofilm, the Realization.
  8. Chapter 8 Phonofilm, the Rejection.
  9. Chapter 9 Phonofilm, the Lawyers.
  10. Chapter 10 Lesson and Legacy.

If you think that you've found an error in this book, please let us know by emailing to editorial@apress.com . You will find any confirmed erratum below, so you can check if your concern has already been addressed.
No errata are currently published


    1. Beginning Data Science with R


      View Book

    2. Book of Extremes


      View Book